2018 NAWT Excellence in Service Award

nawt logo

The National Association of Wastewater Technicians Excellence in Service Award is your opportunity to recognize someone that you have noticed goes beyond the ordinary. It is something this industry does not do enough of; that is recognizing our peers for all their hard work and service! The award is presented annually at the state association breakfast during the Water & Wastewater Equipment, Treatment & Transport show (WWETT) just before presentation of the Ralph Macchio Lifetime Achievement Award. The 2018 Association Breakfast Meeting will be held at the Indianapolis Convention Center in Indianapolis, IN on February 22, 2018 from 7:30 – 9:00 AM in room 108.

The NAWT Board established the Excellence in Service Award in 2010 as an update to the former Man of the Year award. Establishment of this award reflected the changing industry and provides the opportunity to recognize any individual or company the NAWT board feels has exhibited exceptional service to the wastewater profession. The nomination criteria and instructions are provided below. Nominations must be submitted by January 14, 2018.


Basis for Award 

To recognize a NAWT member or NAWT-sponsored individual or company that has shown exceptional accomplishments in their service to the community and to the wastewater profession.

Download the Nomination Form (PDF)


Nomination Criteria

The Excellence in Service Award is based on one or more of the following criteria:

  • A significant contribution to the wastewater profession and/or to NAWT
  • Commendable service during a significant community or national event within the last several years
  • Additional responsibilities that resulted in a benefit to the community or wastewater industry
  • Actions performed above and beyond the call of duty
  • Provided inspiration to others
  • Exhibited exceptional leadership

Nomination Instructions

Who can nominate?

  • NAWT members in good standing with personal knowledge of the accomplishments of the nominee.
  • Liaisons from NAWT-affiliated organizations who have personal knowledge of the accomplishments of the nominee.
  • Nonmembers may make recommendation through any NAWT member or liaison

Who can be nominated?

  • Anyone who meets the nomination criteria
  • Past non-winning nominees

When to submit nominations:

  • All nomination forms must be received by or postmarked by January 14, 2017. Any applications received after the deadline will be placed on file for the next calendar year.
  • All post-deadline nominators will be notified of this fact and given further instructions.

Documentation required:

  • An Excellence in Service Award application form, which can be obtained by:
  • A nomination letter explaining why the nominee should be considered for the Excellence in Service Award based on the award criteria and signed by the nominating individual.
  • An additional signed endorsement letter to vouch for the nominee’s achievements may be included, but is not required.
  • Submit the application packet to the NAWT office marked ATTN: Excellence in Service Award Committee via:

U.S. mail addressed to NAWT, 2800 W. Higgins Rd; Suite 440, Hoffman Estates, IL 60169